How do you travel and write for a living?

Discuss Francis Tapon's book, "Hike Your Own Hike: 7 Life Lessons from Backpacking Across America"
FrancisTapon
Site Admin

How do you travel and write for a living?

Post by FrancisTapon » Sat Apr 05, 2008 2:34 pm

My name is Andy Laub and I am a journalism student at Emerson College in Boston. I came across your site after I hit a link from the Pacific Crest Trail website. I then read your profile piece published by the San Francisco Chronicle.

I was inspired by your story. Also, I'm interested in how you made it into a living; writing about it, getting sponsors etc. When I read the profile piece in the San Francisco Chronicle, I felt like I was reading a piece of myself. I have run marathons and done week-long backpack trips in the past, but it has never completely satisfied/tested me. I am always in motion and have felt constrained staying in one place to work and finish my degree. There has always been a strong urge, deep down, to drop everything (after I graduate) to go out and hike/kayak as far as possible, writing about/capturing it with pictures and video, and make that into my living. I'm just not sure how to do it.

I would love to attend "Hike your own Hike" on the 26th, but being in Boston, I have a minor setback, ha ha. So any advice on how to prepare for long trips; where to go; how to get sponsors; things to expect on the trail, would all be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

All best
-Andy Laub
Andy,

The good news is that kayaking/hiking for a living isn't as hard as you might think. There are two things to consider: income and expenses.

Fortunately, income isn't a problem for most Americans. It's easy to make over $30,000 a year.

The challenge is learning to live on just $10,000. We have a tendency to raise our expenses to meet our income. My business school classmates tell me that they can't survive on less than $200,000 a year.